Hello world!

18 09 2012

Hello everyone and welcome to my blog!

I will start with an introduction.  My name is Teresa Chalmers and I am a senior at UNR studying Business Management.  I am currently a Stay-At-Home mom and own a business watching children from my home.  Although, some days it gets awfully crazy around my house, I would not trade my situation for anything else.  I love what I do and would love to share my passion for parenting, providing childcare, and seeking adventure.

Prior to having children, I had a very successful job as a Customer Service Manager at a bank.  I really enjoyed my job and thought that Stay-At-Home Parenting would never be “my thing”.  Then something came along called offspring.  I was able to continue working, having only family and trustworthy friends provide care to my first, Sylis, but when Sylis was six months old I became pregnant again.  Nine months later came his baby brother, Seth.  I took another maternity leave and it was then that I started to look at my families’ big picture.

Since the friends and family members that had previously watched Sylis were no longer able to provide care for both my children, I began searching for other childcare options.  When I called and visited the local facilities in Carson City, it became immediately clear that I could never leave them.  Between the costs involved with having two children under two in daycare, and the environmental factors for newborns and toddlers, I began searching for other avenues.  This is when I decided to obtain my business license in order to enable me to watch children within my home.

One day, after I finish my degree, I know I will return to the professional environment, but for now I am very content with my situation. I have really enjoyed, not only watching my children grow before my eyes, but also being able to provide the same love and attention to some other amazing children.  Those who know me well know I do not provide your typical daycare type environment.  I treat these kiddos with extra love and attention that usually only parents provide.   I am not a sitter, but rather a mom away from mom, and keep busy with weekly schedules that are packed with fun, adventure, and creativity.

This blog is about moms and how powerful they can be.  It is about inspiring women to be more than they ever imagined by showing them that no matter what point they are in their lives, they can still accomplish anything they desire.  Whether you are a Stay-At-Home Mom, Working mom, Childcare Provider, or Business Owner, there will be a little something for you.

Please follow me along my journey   to be the best I can be and let me inspire you to do the same.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Teresa Chalmers

A Survival Guide for Busy Moms and Childcare Providers!

The Art of Simple

Exploring the craft of living simply.

Simple Marriage

Small changes. Lasting relationships. Marriage & Family Therapy in McKinney, TX.

Not Your Average Mom

always evolving, never average

Living the Balanced Life

Just another WordPress site

Becoming Minimalist

Own less. Live more. Finding minimalism in a world of consumerism.

The Stressed Mom

Resources to save your sanity

A Thrifty Mom - Extreme couponing the right way

Extreme Couponing, Recipes, DIY and Fun activities

Mommy OM

motherhood. health. sanity. om.

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

